Skip Navigation

Board of Directors

The NHA Board of Directors oversees the business and affairs of the Alliance and determines policies, except those requiring a vote of the membership.  The board is composed of up to nineteen members, including four officers and nine directors elected directly by the membership, four directors elected by the board, and two non-elected (ex officio) officers.  


David Marshall*—NHA President
Executive Vice Chancellor, University of California, Santa Barbara (Santa Barbara, CA)

James Grossman*— NHA Vice President 
Executive Director, American Historical Association (Washington, DC)

Robert C. Vaughan* —NHA Treasurer
President, Virginia Foundation for the Humanities (Charlottesville, VA)

Pauline Yu*—NHA Secretary
President, American Council of Learned Societies (New York, NY)

John Churchill*—NHA Immediate Past President
Secretary, The Phi Beta Kappa Society (Washington, DC)

Stephen Kidd*—NHA Executive Director


Rosemary G. Feal*
Executive Director, Modern Language Association of America (New York, NY)

Jack Fitzmier
Executive Director, American Academy of Religion (Atlanta, GA)

Douglas Greenberg
Executive Dean, School of Arts and Sciences, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey (New Brunswick, NJ)

Teresa Mangum
Director, Obermann Center for Advanced Studies at the University of Iowa (Iowa City, IA)

Anne-Marie McCartan
Executive Director, Council of Colleges of Arts and Sciences (Williamsburg, VA)

Timothy Murray
Director, Society for the Humanities, Cornell University (Ithaca, NY)

Amy Newhall
Executive Director, Middle East Studies Association, University of Arizona (Tucson, AZ)

Hunter R. Rawlings III
President, Association of American Universities (Washington, DC)

Alyson Reed
Executive Director, Linguistic Society of America (Washington, DC)

Carol Geary Schneider
President, Association of American Colleges and Universities (Washington, DC)

Rona Sheramy
Executive Director, Association for Jewish Studies (New York, NY)

Elliott Shore
Executive Director, Association of Research Libraries (Washington, DC)

Eryl Wentworth
Executive Director, American Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works (Washington, DC)

* NHA Executive Committee Member / (Current Term)