Skip Navigation

Congressional Caucuses

Two caucuses represent the humanities in the US Congress.  A caucus is an informal group of members who share similar legislative or policy interests.

Congressional Humanities Caucus

Since 2009, Rep. David Price (D-NC) and, since 2015, Rep. Leonard Lance (R-NJ) co-chair the Congressional Humanities Caucus. The caucus was founded in 2004 by Rep. Jim Leach (subsequently Chairman of the National Endowment for the Humanities) and Rep. David Price to ensure the vitality of the humanities in American life and to provide a forum for Members of Congress to engage in the humanities in current public policy issues. Members of the caucus work together to strengthen the nation’s awareness of history, literature, languages, philosophy, ethics, religion, anthropology, government, linguistics, and other humanities disciplines.

Roster of Congressional Humanities Caucus Members (2015)

Senate Cultural Caucus

Since 2010, Senator Michael Enzi (R-WY) and Senator Barbara Mikulski (D-MD) co-chair the Senate Cultural Caucus. Senators Edward Kennedy (D-MA), Mike Enzi (R-WY), James Jeffords (I-VT), and Norm Coleman (R-MN) formed the Senate Cultural Caucus in 2005. The membership of this caucus represents advocates of both the arts and the humanities.    

Roster of Senate Cultural Caucus Members (2015)