Skip Navigation
Home > News > National Council on the Humanities Convenes in Washington, DC

National Council on the Humanities Convenes in Washington, DC

July 27, 2012 – The National Council on the Humanities met in Washington, DC on July 12-13.  Public committee meetings were held at 9am on Thursday, July 12 followed by closed sessions to review grant applications. Committees included: Challenge Grants, Federal/State Partnership, Office of Digital Humanities, Education Programs, Preservation & Access, Public Programs, and Research Programs.  The full council met in a plenary session on Friday, July 13.  Members of the public, Council members, and NEH staff listened to brief reports from the Chairman, NEH senior staff, and Council members.  The meeting also featured a panel presentation with Dr. Jeffrey Bolster, Associate Professor at the University of New Hampshire, and Gregory White, Qualified Member of the Engine Department—Oiler, on “The Story of Black Jacks: African American Seamen in the Age of Sail and a Washington Prisoner.''  There was also a presentation by Judith Havemann, Director of the NEH Office of Communications, on “Nine Things You Need to Know about the New NEH Website.''

The following programs and grant competitions were considered during the private portions of the meetings: 

Challenge Grants
Council Committee Members: Constance Carroll, Jamie Doggett
Office Director: Steve Ross
Grant Programs: Special Initiative for Two-Year Colleges           

Federal/State Partnership
Council Committee Members: Constance Carroll, Jamie Doggett
Office Director: Edie Manza
Grant Program: General Support Grants

Office of Digital Humanities
Council Committee Members: Cathy Davidson, Carol Swain
Office Director: Brett Bobley
Grant Programs: Digital Humanities Implementation Grants, Institutes for Advanced Topics in the Digital Humanities

Education Programs
Council Committee Members: Rolena Adorno, Dawn Ho Delbanco, Gary Glenn
Division Director: William Craig Rice
Grant Programs: Summer Seminars and Institutes, Landmarks of American History and Culture Workshops

Preservation and Access
Council Committee Members: Marvin Krislov, Christopher Merrill, Martha Weinberg
Division Director: Nadina Gardner
Grant Programs: Sustaining Cultural Heritage Collections, National Digital Newspaper Program

Public Programs 
Council Committee Members: Albert Beveridge, Jamsheed Choksy, Paula Duffy
Division Director: Karen Mittelman
Grant Programs: America’s Historical and Cultural Organizations, America’s Media Makers, Small Grants to Libraries, NEH on the Road

Research Programs
Council Committee Members: Adele Alexander, Allison Blakely, David Hertz
Division Director: Jane Aikin
Grant Programs: Collaborative Research, Scholarly Editions and Translations

The National Council on the Humanities is a board of 26 private citizens charged, by statute, with (1) advising the Chairman of the National Endowment for the Humanities with respect to Endowment policies, programs, and procedures, and with (2) reviewing grant applications and making recommendations to the Chairman. National Council members are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate. They serve staggered, six-year terms.

A current list of Council members is available on the NEH website.  The next Council meeting is scheduled for November 15-16.

[Posted by: Erin Mosley] 

Related content: NEH Council