Skip Navigation
Home > News > National Heritage Areas Caucus Launched

National Heritage Areas Caucus Launched

June 16, 2010 - Congressmen Paul Tonko (D-NY-21) and Charlie Dent (R-PA-15) announced the launch of a new Congressional Caucus on June 15. The National Heritage Areas Caucus, the newly created bipartisan coalition, will work to coordinate Congressional efforts on behalf of the nation's various National Heritage Areas. 

Inaugurated in 1984, with the designation of the Illinois & Michigan Canal National Heritage Corridor, National Heritage Areas now encompass 49 areas in 32 states. National Heritage Areas are designated by Congress and expand on traditional approaches to resource stewardship. They support large-scale, community initiatives that connect local citizens to the preservation and planning process. The National Park Service (NPS) provides technical, planning and limited financial assistance to National Heritage Areas.

Additional information about National Heritage areas is available on the NPS website.  

Related content: Congressional Caucuses, NPS