Skip Navigation
Home > News > Rep. Rush Holt Leads Fight to Restore Title VI/Fulbright Hays Funding

Rep. Rush Holt Leads Fight to Restore Title VI/Fulbright Hays Funding

June 2, 2011 - In an effort led by Rep. Rush Holt (D-NJ), 24 House Members have submitted a sign-on letter to appropriations leaders in support of FY 2012 funding for the Department of Education’s Title VI/Fulbright-Hays International Education and Foreign Language Studies (IEFLS) programs.  The letter, dated May 18, requests restored funding at the FY 2010 level of $125.9 million, the same level proposed by the Obama Administration for FY 2012. “The various programs funded under this account serve to strengthen the nation’s educational infrastructure in areas where the need grows greater by the day”, states the letter sent to Chairman Denny Rehberg (R-MT) and Ranking Member Rosa DeLauro (D-CT) of the House Labor/HHS/Education Appropriations Subcommittee.   The Title VI-Fulbright Hays programs were cut by nearly $50 million (or 40%) in the final FY 2011 spending agreement. A list of signers is provided below.

Earlier in the month, Rep. Holt sent a letter to Education Secretary Arne Duncan opposing what were then pending cuts (since finalized) to the Title VI/Fulbright-Hays programs for FY 2011. Holt was joined by three Democrats on the House Education Appropriations Subcommittee, including Ranking Member Rosa DeLauro (D-CT), Rep. Jesse Jackson, Jr. (D-IL), and Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA). The text of the letter to Duncan is available here.

To view the FY 2012 Title VI/Fulbright-Hays letter signed by 24 Members of Congress, click here. Representatives who signed the letter include:

1. Rush Holt (D- NJ)
2. David Wu (D-OR)
3. Raul M. Grijalva (D-AZ)
4. Mazie Hirono (D-HI)
5. Susan Davis (D-CA)
6. Jerrold Nadler (D-NY)
7. Yvette Clarke (D-NY)
8. Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)
9. Albio Sires (D-NJ)
10. Dale E. Kildee (D-MI)
11. Bruce Braley (D-IA)
12. Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)
13. Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC)
14. Keith Ellison (D-MN)
15. Donald M. Payne (D-NJ)
16. David Scott (D-GA)
17. Charles B. Range1 (D-NY)
18. Bobby Scott (D-VA)
19. Carolyn B. Maloney (D-NY)
20. Cedric Richmond (D-LA)
21. John Dingell (D-MI)
22. Stephen Lynch (D-MA)
23. Jim McDerrnott (D-WA)
24. Hank Johnson (D-GA)

Supporting documents provided by the Coalition for International Education.

Related content: Budget & Appropriations, Dear Colleagues, Dept of Ed, Foreign Language, International Ed