Board of Directors

The NHA Board of Directors oversees the business and affairs of the National Humanities Alliance and determines policies, except those requiring a vote of the membership.  The board is composed of up to twenty-two members, including four officers and nine directors elected directly by the membership, up to seven directors elected by the board, and two non-elected (ex officio) officers.  


James Grossman—NHA President 
Executive Director, American Historical Association (Washington, DC)

Teresa MangumNHA Vice President
Director, Obermann Center for Advanced Studies at the University of Iowa (Iowa City, IA)

Paula Krebs—NHA Treasurer
Executive Director, Modern Language Association of America (New York, NY)

Ben Vinson III—NHA Secretary
Provost and Executive Vice President, Case Western Reserve University (Cleveland, OH)

David MarshallNHA Immediate Past President (ex officio)
Executive Vice Chancellor, University of California, Santa Barbara (Santa Barbara, CA)

Stephen Kidd—NHA Executive Director (ex officio)


Joy Connolly
President, American Council of Learned Societies (New York, NY)

Amy Ferrer
Executive Director, American Philosophical Association (Newark, DE)

Dianne Harris
Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, University of Washington (Seattle, WA)

Lena Hill
Provost, Washington and Lee University (Lexington, VA)

Frederick Lawrence
Secretary, The Phi Beta Kappa Society (Washington, DC)

Ed Liebow
Executive Director, American Anthropological Association (Arlington, VA)

Tania Munz
Chief Program Officer, American Academy of Arts and Sciences (Cambridge, MA)

Lynn Pasquerella
President, Association of American Colleges and Universities (Washington, DC)

Milagros Pereyra-Rojas
Executive Director, Latin American Studies Association (Pittsburgh, PA)

Andrew Rusnak
Executive Director, Community Colleges Humanities Association (Baltimore, MD)

Barbara Snyder
President, Association of American Universities (Washington, DC)

Rick Spees
Executive Director, Council of American Overseas Research Centers (Washington, DC)

Phoebe Stein
President, Federation of State Humanities Councils (Arlington, VA)

Steven Tepper
Dean, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts, Arizona State University (Tempe, AZ)

Michael Witmore
Director, Folger Shakespeare Library (Washington, DC)