Congressional Caucuses

Two caucuses represent the humanities in the US Congress.  A caucus is an informal group of members who share similar legislative or policy interests.

Congressional Humanities Caucus

Rep. David Price (D-NC) and Rep. Leonard Lance (R-NJ) co-chair the Congressional Humanities Caucus. The caucus was founded in 2004 by Rep. Jim Leach and Rep. David Price to ensure the vitality of the humanities in American life and to provide a forum for Members of Congress to engage in the humanities in current public policy issues. Members of the caucus work together to strengthen the nation’s awareness of history, literature, languages, philosophy, ethics, religion, anthropology, government, linguistics, and other humanities disciplines.

Congressional Humanities Caucus Roster


Price, David  (D-NC-4)

Lance, Leonard  (R-NJ-7)


Adams, Alma (D-NC-12)

Bishop Jr., Sanford  (D-GA-2)

Bluemenaur, Earl  (D-OR-3)

Bonamici, Suzanne  (D-OR-1)

Bordallo, Madeleine (D-GU-AL)

Brady, Robert (D-PA-1)

Brooks, Mo (R-AL-5)

Brownley, Julia (D-CA-26)

Capuano, Michael  (D-MA-8)

Carbajal, Salud (D-CA-24)

Carson, Andre (D-IN-7)

Clyburn, Jim  (D-SC-6)

Cohen, Steve  (D-TN-9)

Cole, Tom  (R-OK-4)

Comstock, Barbara (R-VA-10)

Cooper, Jim  (D-TN-5)

Cummings, Elijah  (D-MD-7)

DeFazio, Peter  (D-OR-4) 

DeLauro, Rosa  (D-CT-3)

DeSaulnier, Mark (D-CA-11)

Doggett, Lloyd  (D-TX-25)

Eshoo, Anna  (D-CA-14)

Esty, Elizabeth (D-CT-5)

Fortenberry, Jeff  (R-NE-1)

Garamendi, John (D-CA-3)

Grijalva, Raul (D-AZ-3)

Guthrie, Brett (R-KY-2)

Gutierrez, Luis  (D-IL-4)

Hastings, Alcee (D-FL-23)

Heck, Denny (D-WA-10)

Hill, J. French (R-AR-2)

Jenkins, Evan (R-WV-3)

Jenkins, Lynn (R-KS-2)

Johnson, Eddie Bernice (D-TX-30)

Johnson, Hank (D-GA-04)

Katko, John (R-NY-24)

Kind, Ron  (D-WI-3) 

Langevin, James  (D-RI-2)

Larsen, Rick  (D-WA-2)

Levin, Sander (D-MI-9)

Lewis, John  (D-GA-5)

Lieu, Ted (D-CA-33)

Lipinski, Daniel  (D-IL-3)

Loebsack, Dave  (D-IA-2)

Lujan, Ben Ray, (D-NM-3)

Maloney, Carolyn  (D-NY-14)

Matsui, Doris  (D-CA-5)

McCollum, Betty  (D-MN-4) 

McGovern, Jim (D-MA-03)

McKinley, David (R-WV-1)

Nadler, Jerrold  (D-NY-8)

Norton, Eleanor Holmes (D-DC-AL)

Pascrell, Bill  (D-NJ-8) 

Payne Jr., Donald (D-NJ-10)

Pingree, Chellie  (D-ME-1)

Polis, Jared (D-CO-2)

Raskin, Jamie (D-MD-8)

Ruppersberger, Dutch  (D-MD-2)

Rush, Bobby  (D-IL-1)

Ryan, Tim  (D-OH-17)

Sablan, Gregorio Kilili Camacho (D-MP-At-Large)

Schakowsky, Jan  (D-IL-9)

Schiff, Adam  (D-CA-29)

Scott, Bobby (D-VA-3) 

Serrano, José E.  (D-NY-16) 

Shea-Porter, Carol (D-NH-1)

Slaughter, Louise  (D-NY-28) 

Smith, Adam  (D-WA-09)

Smith, Chris (R-NJ-4)

Stivers, Steve (R-OH-15)

Takano, Mark (D-CA-41)

Thompson, Mike  (D-CA-1)

Titus, Dina (D-NV-1)

Yarmuth, John  (D-KY-3)

Young, Don (R-AK-AL)


Senate Cultural Caucus

Senators Edward Kennedy (D-MA), Michael Enzi (R-WY), James Jeffords (I-VT), and Norm Coleman (R-MN) formed the Senate Cultural Caucus in 2005. The membership of this caucus represents advocates of both the arts and the humanities. Senator Michael Enzi (R-WY) and Senator Barbara Mikulski (D-MD) co-chaired the Senate Cultural Caucus from 2010-2017. In 2017, Susan Collins (R-ME) and Tom Udall (D-NM) became the co-chairs.     


Susan Collins (R-ME)

Tom Udall (D-NM)

Brown, Sherrod (D-OH)

Cochran, Thad (R-MS)

Durbin, Richard (D-IL)

Enzi, Mike (R-WY)

Feinstein, Dianne (D-CA)

Hatch, Orrin (R-UT)

Isakson, Johnny (R-GA)

Klobuchar, Amy (D-MN)

Menendez, Robert (D-NJ)

Murkowski, Lisa (R-AK)

Murray, Patty (D-WA)

Peters, Gary (D-MI)

Reed, Jack (D-RI)

Schumer, Charles (D-NY)

Stabenow, Debbie (D-MI)